EHIC for Spanish Nationals

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
02 Aug 2010 12:00 AM by Rob in Madrid Star rating in Madrid. 274 posts Send private message

Rob in Madrid´s avatar

here's a question I haven't seen covered yet. How does one get a EHIC card for use in other EU countries?

Seen lots of info on getting one from the UK but what if you live in Spain and return to the UK (or another other country for that matter)?

Thanks

Decided after all I don't like Spanish TV, that is having compared both.

Like 0      
02 Aug 2010 11:52 PM by claire T Star rating in Torremendo, Orihuela. 689 posts Send private message

EOS Supporter

Hi Rob - I asked in my health centre and they said I had to go apply for a new EHIC as my UK one is no longer valid as I am now a Spanish resident.  Your local health centre should be able to tell you which office you need to apply to (cos I can't remember the name at the moment!!)

Like 0      
03 Aug 2010 1:38 AM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4552 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

You need to apply to your local Centro de Atención e Información de la Seg. Social (CAISS). You can find your nearest one by calling (free) 900 16 65 65, or online at seg-social.es. There's a search facility, here's a link to centres in Madrid but not knowing whereabouts you are based, I only looked at central Madrid so you may need to use the "buscar centros" facility to find one nearer to you.

Hope this helps?

"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please"

Mark Twain

Like 0      
03 Aug 2010 9:17 AM by tfr Star rating. 12 posts Send private message

Hi, you have to be contributing to the Social Security system to be eligible for Spanish issued EHIC so as the previous poster suggested try the local office of the TGSS. 

Like 0      
03 Aug 2010 6:58 PM by Rob in Madrid Star rating in Madrid. 274 posts Send private message