Spanish Income Tax on rental income for non residents

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
02 Feb 2008 12:00 AM by jcashman Star rating. 4 posts Send private message

Hi All.

I have a problem with my spanish income tax on rental income. Where an apartment is let in Spain, as a non resident, I am exposed to a flat rate of 24% on the gross rent, without any deductions for legitimate expenses such as repairs, service charges, depreciation of furniture etc. In essence, it is a tax on turnover as opposed to profit.

However, I understand that if I was Spanish resident I would be allowed such deductions in arriving at my taxable rental income.

In my case, given my legitimate expenses on my apartment, the 24% Spanish tax will exceed the rental profit I have made on this apartment.

Up to 2007 Spain charged non residents 35% Capital Gains Tax while residents were charged 15%. This was discriminatory to EU citizens and a case was taken to the European Court. The Authorities were forced to change. Both residents and non residents are now charged 18%.

Surely, a similar discrimination applies to the differinig rules for residents and non residents for Income Tax on rental income. I don't know of any juristiction that taxes rental turnover as opposed to profit. Both the UK and Ireland charge profit. Does anyone know if this situation is likely to change or if there is any case being taken to Europe on this issue.

I do appreciate that many non residents do not declare Spanish rental income, and given the flat 24% rate, suddenly I understand why but I wish to be fully compliant as I am a tax advisor myself.  From the discussions on your forum, nobody has discussed this point.