Import duty

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
24 Jan 2021 4:06 PM by windtalker Star rating. 1935 posts Send private message

I am a non resident .. when I go over to Spain by car I often take bits a pieces over for the villa for personal use will I be expected to pay import duties on the goods I take to Spain...now that the UK is no longer in the EU.

This message was last edited by windtalker on 24/01/2021.

Like 0      
25 Jan 2021 8:32 AM by Jarvi Star rating in Halifax UK and Sucin.... 757 posts Send private message

Entering into Spain

When entering the national territory, amounts of money, securities or values worth equal or more than 10,000 euros per person should be declared in customs.

The Agencia Tributaria (Tax Agency) establishes a limit of 430 euros for the total value of goods transported in personal baggage. For any values over this amount, passengers will no longer be exempt from paying import duties, VAT and special taxes. This limit is reduced to 150 euros for children under 15 years old.

Personal goods will be considered as those acquired occasionally, which are for the personal or family use of the travellers, or gifts that, due to their nature and quantity, cannot be assumed to be the subject of commercial activity.

Like 1      
26 Jan 2021 5:53 PM by Jimbofinn Star rating in Chiclana De La Front.... 224 posts Send private message

Jimbofinn´s avatar

all I can add to this is information coming from some people shopping in Gibraltar to get their English fix.  The Spanish customs siezed most of the goods not because of the lack of duty paid, but because the goods contained either meat or dairy products.  Rather than take the risk of having your goods siezed, why not simply pop into one of the many shops that import UK goods on the costas.  Can't help if there are none in the area to which you are going to.

Like 0      

Pages: 1 |