Car insurance UK and Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
26 Oct 2011 12:00 AM by spanish apartment Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

Hello, I am new to EOS.  I am considering the possibility of relocating to Spain in February 2012.  My UK car insurance is due for renewal early November 2011 and only covers me for a 30 day trip in the EU.  I am looking for car insurance for cover in both countries so that I don't have to pay for 2 seperate policies. Can anyone advise 

Like 0      
26 Oct 2011 11:24 AM by Faro Star rating in London. 1139 posts Send private message

No problem - contact any broker on the coast.

In terms of insurers I would recommend

No. 1 - Zurich

No.2 - Liberty Seguros

Liberty will insure anything whether on UK or ES plates - LHD or RHD etc

Zurich I think will not insure UK plates but will insure RHD on ES plates.

My dislike of Liberty is their claims handling and Zurich is much better and more responsive.

I have policies with both but will switch RHD ES plated car over to Zurich on renewal.

Zurich policy is also much more comprehensive.

Like 0      
26 Oct 2011 6:19 PM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

I don't want to advertise for any particular agents or brokers, so I suggest you shop around.  

As has been said there are a lot of brokers / companies who can fix you up.

I would though, as a result of expensive personal experience steer clear of Knight Insurance Brokers. (I can justify this comment and Knights know that I pass on details of my experience with them and they don't care !!!! )

Like 0      
26 Oct 2011 11:49 PM by spanish apartment Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

Thank you for your comments.

Like 0      
27 Oct 2011 12:04 AM by foxbat Star rating in Granada. 1114 posts Send private message

foxbat´s avatar

Saga Motor Insurance covers unlimited time in Europe...