Importing New & Used Cars From Jersey

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
17 Nov 2010 12:00 AM by Pichiclan Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

I am wanting good advice from anyone that can tell me the legal and financial  implications of importing cars from Jersey.

I have a registered address in Jersey (and I am a resident in Spain) so can buy new or pre reg cars along with used on the Island that are left hand drive, obviously on Jersey plates. I understand the process a little if I brought a LHD car from the UK mainland but with Jersey being a VAT free (or nearly) Island the implications of buying and matriculating on to Spanish plates I don't understand and I am finding it difficult to get a definitive answer.

As an example:

2010 - 2011 Audi A8 4.2TDI pre-registered in Jersey is £65062.69 (75471€) on the road. What is the best most cost effective way of getting the car matriculated onto Spanish plates, the same car in Spain is 135.000€

Like 0      
17 Nov 2010 10:24 AM by morerosado Star rating. 6927 posts Send private message

morerosado´s avatar

You don't say where you are in Spain but if you contact Tom Milligan in La Marina, near Alicante he knows everything to do with re-registering cars & should be able to advise you.

http://www.reregcar.info/

Like 0      
17 Nov 2010 1:05 PM by Marysafc Star rating in Harrow and Peñiscola. 113 posts Send private message

I would suspect that you would have to pay the VAT just as you would if you imported from Channel Islands to UK - just guessing though.

Like 0      
17 Nov 2010 11:19 PM by midasgold Star rating in Mijas.. 93 posts Send private message