How do I open a teaching academy inland Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
08 Dec 2013 7:48 AM by dbd Star rating. 63 posts Send private message

I am unsure as to where I come across the resources etc necessary to teach the qualifications in an academy. I know it used to be cambridge English or something similar that was taught in academies but now as far as I am aware it is a different qualification. Also I am unsure as to legal red tape and difficulties involved in opening an academy although I suppose this would be determined by the region.

Although  I am a qualified teacher with  QTS I suppose a PGCE is adequate to teach the TEFL qualification. I have been told the TEFL is mainly  proof of classroom experience can anybody clarify whether it is suffient? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Like 0      
08 Dec 2013 9:16 AM by txakoli Star rating. 18 posts Send private message

You should be able to pick up a leaflet explaining the University of Cambridge levels at a British Council centre (Instituto Britanico) or else the Cambridge web site. The levels go from A1 to C2 (lowest to highest). Most coursebooks used in Spain reflect one of the levels that prepares students for an English level & test, such as KET, PET, FCE, CAE & CPE.......(Key English Test, Proficiency English Test, First Certificate in English, Certificate in Advanced English & Certificate of Proficiency in English).

Spain comes pretty low down the list of EU countries with their standard of English spoken.  A PGCE is more than adequate to teach TEFL.  The most important attributes for teaching are good preparation & sound discipline. The fact that you are a 'native speaker' will count a lot in your favour. 

Like 0      
08 Dec 2013 9:56 AM by andyintorre Star rating in Costa Blanca. 104 posts Send private message

where in spain are you thinking of opening?

Like 0