Importing a UK registered car that was previously Spanish registered ...

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
17 Aug 2010 12:00 AM by PaulX Star rating. 7 posts Send private message

Hello All, Newbie here looking for wisdom from the collective….

The story so far

We lived briefly in Barcelona in 2006/07 but events called us back to the UK. We weren't in Spain long enough to become Tax residents so we just temporarily rented a house. We were planning on staying longer. My wife got a NIE and we bought a new Spanish Euro Spec LHD Mercedes E320 Estate from the main Merc dealer in Barcelona in Dec 2006. 

We had to return to the UK a few months later and took the car with us. Replated it with the DVLA in Manchester - its been on UK plates now for about 3 years.

We are now able to return to BCN and want to bring the car with us. All taxes were paid on the car new in Spain ( pretty hefty they were to I remember). I can easily swap the lights back to LHD pattern so its fully Euro Spanish spec. I have the Cert of Conformity etc.

I guess if we rent a flat in BCN and get my Wife's NIE updated, and I get a NIE and we get Padrons, we should be able to import the car back within 30 or 60 days of arrival in Spain as a personal possession? We should then just have to get an ITV and go through the form filling process but not pay the Matriculation tax based on the C02.

I also have a UK plated motorbike which I bough new in France in 2007. The bike was on French plates for about a year before I imported it into the UK. Now on UK plates with full Euro CoC spec. Can I bring this a personal possession also? VAT was paid in France at the time of registration.

Can anyone see any issues with doing this  or recommend the services of someone in Barcelona who can do this for us?

Many thanks

Paul

Like 0