Most common problems when buying in Spain?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 Apr 2008 12:00 AM by hannahes Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

Hi, i'm a Journalism student and in the early stages of researching into the problems when buying abroad and would appreciate any help.
I've heard that some common problems that you should look out for is making sure you have the relevant planning permission and buying without a bank guarantee. What are other common problems that arise when buying in Spain?
If anyone has any experiences of any troubles they have experienced or are experiencing then i would be very grateful to hear them!
Ideally for my project I should have a case study of a person who has experienced trouble whilst buying abroad so if you could help me out it would be very much appreciated.

Hannah

Like 0      
14 Apr 2008 3:57 PM by carolfrayne Star rating. 37 posts Send private message

Hello,

I think it would be true to say that most people who are purchasing off-plan apartments have really been taken for a ride in many ways and because they have relied upon the marketing agencies of these properties and put trust in them buyers are now finding out that all is not well with their purchases.

Many people have been taken on excursions by the marketing agency called (promotor) to vacany building lots where they have established a caravan and some flags denoting their company and where they have set up maps of the area and have designer brochures telling you all about the properties you can buy.

Next you are taken by coach to very upmarket places for lunch and you stay at an upmarket hotel.  (All paid for by you at discounted prices).  You are taken to see yacht clubs and upmarket shopping malls, and restaurants and basically sold the life-style.