uk or spanish licence

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
11 May 2014 10:38 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

Spanish nationals are not permitted to drive a RHD car except in certain circumstances. We, however, are not of the indigenous people, only on the foreign register, so law doesn't extend to us....yet.

I have not seen that anywhere about RHD it’s about where the vehicle is registered.

And as EU citizens we have the same rights and duties as indigenous Spaniards, with just a very few exceptions.  So, ‘only on the register’ as no significance.

Like 0      
11 May 2014 10:54 AM by Mickyfinn Star rating in Spain and France. 1833 posts Send private message

My questions may seem obtuse but not everyone fits into boxes. It's all a bit of a mine field if you don't.

I am a Spanish resident and UK national tax payer. I own a Spanish car. I also have a property in France where I spend the summers. There I have a UK registered car kept in a locked garage and legally used (mot,tax etc) whilst I'm there.

As I understand it I will be OK to continue drive my UK (rhd) car in France if I have a Spanish driving licence as long as I don't drive it to Spain. However if I take it to UK as I do each year for mot and tax am I still legal?

Like 0      
11 May 2014 11:05 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

Micky  I am a Spanish resident and UK national tax payer

Sorry this is going off thread-

But if you are resident in Spain,  except for UK Government employee pensions (military, police etc.) and rental property there (which is taxed in UK and maybe too in Spain)  you are obliged to pay income tax on your worldwide income, here in Spain. No choice where you pay.  If you do pay in UK, HMRC will not tell you that you are wrong, but you can be fined for not paying here.