Renewing your Padron every 5 year-Legal or not

This thread is currently locked.

:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
10 Oct 2017 8:18 AM by nigel188 Star rating in Estepona. 656 posts Send private message

Does anyone know how this works. I have been a Resident of Estepona since June 2008. I got some sort of letter dated stamped December 2014 asking me if I was still a Resident of Estepona. I duly sigend this letter with my Passport Number instead of my NIE and our Urbanisation Comunidad Manager returned all these signed letters back to the Town Hall. I have now discovered that as I apparently had not renewed my Padron,my status changed from Resident to Non-Resident.The Town Hall told me your Padron has to be renewed every 5 years. Is this correct. Can one apply to be a Permanet Resident of your City,Town or village in Spain. As a Result my IBI Bill increased by Euros 345.86 to Euros 456. 56 instead of the Plan de Pago amount of Euros 110.70. Hence no discount applied for the final payment for the year. Has any other Forum user had this happen to them as well.

Thank You

Nigel

Like 0      
10 Oct 2017 4:56 PM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

The Padron is the list of people who are resident in a municipality.

The law changed a couple of years ago.  Previously it was almost impossible for a town hall to remove anyone from the Padron without their permission. That resulted in a large number of people being on the Padron when in fact they had died, left the country etc. 

Those who move to another municipality would normally register on that town hall Padron and would be taken of the previous Padron.  

The new law is that a person with resident status (some call it incorrectly Residencia) must renew every 5 years or they are deleted. That means any discounts allowed to those on the Padron are lost until they re-register.