Drive to Spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
21 Jun 2007 12:00 AM by Mazarron Eye Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Mazarron Eye´s avatar

We are thinking to drive to Spain late December this year, dose anyone know what is the road situation across the Pyrenees?

Is it bad enough to use  Snow Chains?

Regards

Ami

Like 0      
21 Jun 2007 11:50 AM by Gevaudan Star rating in Málaga. 16 posts Send private message

Gevaudan´s avatar

Hello Mazarron Eye,

I live in Málaga and I am not an expert in the Pyrenees area, but I would consider the following:

- Have you already decided which route to follow down France? Will you go close to the Atlantic motorway or will you go down the Rhône river valley motorway in the east?

- I think the previous point is important because, apart from the snow / ice situation in the Pyrenees roads, depending on where in Spain you are going to drive in, you´ll have the choice of going south close to the Mediterranean or through the Castilian Plateau.

- Depending on the weather reports for those dates, you can cross the French-Spanish border in the West (Vasque country), in the middle of the Pyreness or in the East (Catalunya). It is also important to mind about snow / ice in roads NOT ONLY in the Pyrenees but also in the Castilian plateau, which is common some weeks during the winter.

-SO, if I my destination were somewhere along the Mediterranea coast, I would go through Languedoc-Roussilon / Catalunya border.  If you´re going any other place not the coast I would consider instead the other option depending on the weather report for those dates.

Good Luck!

Like 0      
21 Jun 2007 12:49 PM by Pitby Star rating in Andalucía. 1904 posts Send private message

Pitby´s avatar
Hi Ami,

Welcome to the forum!  Loads of useful info here.  Try this link - quite a few things posted about driving through France to Spain.