Best type of property for rental income

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
30 Jul 2011 12:00 AM by kev1n Star rating. 2 posts Send private message

Hi, Im seriously looking at buying a place in Spain, not to live in, but for long weekends and to rent out when not in use by my family and friends.

What are the easiest properties to rent, i.e. on a golf course, next to the sea or in a spanish village. Ive done some research and can see that having a sea-view and being not too far from the airport helps, but would like to hear from anyone who has had success in renting out.

Cheers - Kev

Like 0      
04 Aug 2011 3:46 PM by manorpark Star rating. 165 posts Send private message

manorpark´s avatar

Hi,

I am no expert but I would reckon that near the sea is a good option especially if you have a sea view. Having facilities such as supermarkets and restaurants within walkiing distance is always a plus when renting out. I can't comment on golf properties but if there is a nice club house and it's not too far from town it could be a good idea. Even if you are on a golfing holiday you need somewhere to visit and eat out.  A 2 bed 2 bath apartment will always be popular but there are also a lot of them.

Look at the rental sites and see which properties have high bookings. If there are lots of people competing in one area you will need something that stands out ie. view to sea or over the fairway. I was speaking to someone recently whose friend has furnished his sea view apartment to a very high standard with luxury furnishings, flat screen TV, games console, I Pod dock etc and only charges a little more than others in his block but is fully booked and can't keep up with demand.