Transferrable skills....

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
14 Oct 2007 12:00 AM by AJB1 Star rating in Benahavis, Costa del.... 63 posts Send private message

Well we're taking the plunge. We've decided to move to Costa del Sol 

The first problem is finding work before we move. I'm aware that neither of us will be earning anything like what we're earning in London but we believe our quality of life should be better in Spain.

I have a degree in and am fluent in Spanish (although a bit rusty), am qualified to teach languages including EFL and have more recently been a manger in a Youth Offending Service (including lots of admin and ICT skills). I'm aware that it's virtually impossible to transfer from public sector in England to public sector in Spain. Is this true? Ideally I'd like to work with young offenders over there.

My partner is a qualified electrician and personal trainer and has a keen interest in delivering fitness for golf.

So basically our interests/skills are fitness, working with youths, languages, admin, ICT, property management (gardening, maintenance).

Any suggestions how we could go about finding jobs that incorporate any of the above? Once we've got soem ideas I can hand my notice in!

AJB1

Like 0      
15 Oct 2007 11:48 AM by Rixxy Star rating in San Pedro. 2010 posts Send private message

Rixxy´s avatar

Being fluent in Spanish will help yopu and you could apply for a job in the state sector. Helping youths, well not sure where to start but Im sure you could even if it were to teach english to offenders!

Electrician will have no problem finding work but would be self employed unless again spanish but self employed earn a lot more than contract workers

You could teach english to children - the spanish pay for native teachers outside of the school hours, and maybe spanish to englich speakers in the monrings?