Employment in Spain (Around Malaga Area)

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
31 Aug 2008 12:00 AM by stainsby Star rating in Spain. 14 posts Send private message

My husband and I are considering moving to the Andalucia area in the next 2 years, we currently live in a small hamlet in Derbyshire area (which is very rural)  We are looking for a rural area that is not far from a village, we are  interested in the Comares, Competa, areas, can anyone advise me on on these?

We will be looking to work and are starting to learn the lingo now, I work in the recruitment industry (11 years telesales/ consultative sales experience) and my husband is in sales and works in the parcel/courier industry.  Would we have a better chance of seeking work in the Malaga area? We will have enough savings hopefully not to work for 2 years, but dont ideally want to wait this long  I would get bored doing nothing after 3 months max!!!! 

We do appreciate that the salaries are a lot lower in Spain, but have been told that a couple can live comfortably for 1,400 - 1,600 euros per month? (We would only have a small spanish mortgage if any) and would tend to go out at weekends.

I know that is hard to give a figure as each individuals spending criteria is different, but we are just trying to get a ball park figure

Like 0      
31 Aug 2008 6:46 PM by Lindie Star rating in Andalucia. Velez-Mal.... 23 posts Send private message

Malaga would be your best bet for employment.

Competa is nice but its a long windy road to get there. Can't do it myself, as I get too car sick on hills. It would take a good 30 mins to get down to the motorway and longer if you are stuck behind something slow.

I don't know Comares.