All EOS blogs All Spain blogs  Start your own blog Start your own blog 


This blog will be available for all those who wish to publish a story or a anything of interest related to Spain and don't necessarily want to write a blog. Just forward your article or story to and we'll publish it for you....if it's interesting of course!

2024 Work Calendar for Spain: 12 Holidays with Nine Common Festivities
Saturday, January 6, 2024 @ 11:13 AM

In 2024, Spain's work calendar consists of 12 holidays, with nine of them celebrated throughout the country. The number of common holidays remains the same as the previous year, as stated in a resolution of the Department of Labour published in the Official State Gazette.

Apart from these 12 holidays, two regional holidays are also observed.

The following holidays will be celebrated nationwide in 2024:

1 January (Monday): New Year's Day
6 January (Saturday): Epiphany of the Lord
29 March (Friday): Good Friday
1 May (Wednesday): Labour Day
15 August (Thursday): Assumption of the Virgin
12 October (Saturday): National Day of Spain
1 November (Friday): All Saints' Day
6 December (Friday): Spanish Constitution Day
25 December (Wednesday): Christmas Day

Regions have the option to move some common holidays to other days. For example, Holy Thursday (28 March) will be a holiday in all regions except for the Valencian region and Catalonia. All regions will celebrate Three Kings Day (6 January) on the usual day.

Regions can also designate a holiday on the Monday following national holidays falling on a Sunday. For instance, the Andalusian, Aragon, Asturias, Castilla y León, Extremadura, Murcia, and Melilla regions will observe a holiday on 9 December (Monday following the Immaculate Conception).

Several three-day weekends are expected in 2024, as some holidays fall on a Monday or Friday. These include 1 January, 1 November, and 6 December. Some regions will also have longer "puentes" (bridges), such as the four-day break around Holy Thursday (28 March). In five regions (Balearic Islands, Cantabria, Navarra, Basque Country, and La Rioja), a five-day "puente" will occur due to a holiday on Easter Monday (1 April).

Catalonia and the Valencian region have established an additional recoverable paid holiday. Workers enjoying this holiday will need to compensate by working extra hours. In the Valencian region, the recoverable paid holiday is set for Monday, 24 June (San Juan), while Catalonia must choose between 6 January, 1 April, 24 June, and 26 December (San Esteban).

Each region in Spain has its specific list of holidays, including regional and local celebrations.

Like 1


Only registered users can comment on this blog post. Please Sign In or Register now.


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. More information here. x