IS THE BOTTOM IN SIGHT FOR SPAIN'S PROPERTY MARKET?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: Previous | 1 | 2 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
28 Mar 2009 7:02 AM by Eva2008 Star rating in Reading. 152 posts Send private message

Eva2008´s avatar

The last housing bubble burst in 1989 and prices did not begin their upturn until 1995. Thats 6 years. Todays bubble burst in 2007, so using the same figure would bring us to 2013, BUT, this is a worldwide recession and goes much deeper than just housing. I predict that house prices worldwide, not just spain, will continue to fall and we will not see an upturn until the begining of the next decade.

The boom is well and truely  over, and only property agents still believe we are anywhere near a bottom. Spains housing is vastly overpriced and will fall much deeper than current prices before an upturn occurs.

I am a FTSE trader and going by all previous downturns, the stock market will lead us out of the recession, BUT, the "bottom" will only be defined as we leave it behind. You cannot call it before hand.

Depressing sod aren't I ?

Like 0      
28 Mar 2009 8:14 AM by Tish Star rating in Surrey. 833 posts Send private message

Eva2008,

Your post reflects the conversation that my husband and I had this morning over our morning cuppa!  Having seen and survived two previous recessions, we concluded that this one is cutting so deep and globally, that in our opinion, it is going to take a very, very long time to pick up. Indeed we do not think it will ever return to "normal" as we have been used to of the latter years. Depressing? VERY!  Especially as we are coming to retirement years. Our saving grace is we have no young family to support or a mortgage.

Like 0      
28 Mar 2009 9:01 AM by goodstich44 Star rating in northampton. 1648 posts Send private message

Eva/Tish

I think you are both right.