Is this electricity charge reasonable?

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
30 May 2014 4:50 PM by karisy Star rating. 11 posts Send private message

Hi, newbie here.

After around 10 years of family house swaps & various annual holidays, we arranged to rent a one bedroom, front line apartment in Calpe for 2 months this April & so, for the first time, had to pay for the electricity we used as an additional charge. I was advised by the letting agent last October that the typical monthly cost would be around 50-60 Euros so I got a bit of a shock when the bill for our two month stay came to 187 Euros. I have no idea about the cost of electricity in Spain but this seems rather expensive considering I only pay 10.75 pence per unit for our largish 3 bed detached house in rural Norfolk & even with all other charges, only pay around £60 per month!

I took meter readings before & after the let & our total consumption was 493 units which the agent confirmed as correct so this works out to approx 0.38 cents per unit. We have provisionally booked the apartment again in for this September & again next April, can anyone advise if this is a reasonable cost or am I being over charged?

Like 0      
30 May 2014 5:23 PM by marcbernard Star rating in Marina Alta; Alicant.... 254 posts Send private message

Well, it all depends on the usuage level and tariff  of the provider. My own calculations are as follows for Iberdrola, and I live not a long way from Calpe:-

Potencia (2.2); 60days at 0.115187 per day is €6.91122

Usage 493KWh at 0.124107 per KWh is €61.18475

Electricity tax at 4.864% * 68.09597 * 1.05113 gives €3.48154.

Service is 60days at 0.01874 per day or €1.1244

The total of the above is €72.70191

VAT (IVA) at 21% is €15.2674

Total is therefore €87.96931.

You will need to take into account the  markup applied by the owner of the flat!