All EOS blogs All Spain blogs  Start your own blog Start your own blog 

Max Abroad : The Best of Spain

Quite simply writing about the best things Spain has to offer and anything that might crop up along the way. Spain is a lot more than just sun, sand and sea...

Castro de Santa Trega and the 12 Stages of Crucifixion
Friday, September 8, 2023 @ 8:47 PM

The Castro de Santa Trega is one of the most emblematic and surprising archaeological sites in the northwest of Spain. Located on Mount Trega, in the municipality of A Guarda, in the Galician province of Pontevedra, this ancient fortified settlement overlooks the River Miño and the Atlantic Ocean. In addition to its undisputable historical and cultural value, nearby lies one of the most impressive Stations of the Cross in the area, illustrating the 12 stages of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

History of Castro de Santa Trega

Castro de Santa Trega was mainly inhabited between the 1st and 2nd centuries B.C. The settlement is thought to have been built by the Celtic tribe, as evidenced by the Celtic influence in local arts and architecture. Over the years, it has been the subject of constant archaeological investigations, revealing part of the history of these ancient inhabitants.

The settlement, composed of numerous dwellings and defensive constructions, shows the economic and strategic importance it had at the time. At its peak, it is estimated that this castro could have housed up to 3,000 people. Besides, its privileged location testifies to its role in controlling and protecting the territory.

The 12 stages of the Crucifixion



The path leading to Castro de Santa Trega is known as the Via Crucis, consisting of 12 stations remembering the stages of the crucifixion of Jesus Christ. These stations, represented through stone sculptures, allow visitors to follow the route and meditate on Jesus' sacrifice for humanity. Below, we present a summary of the 12 stages:

  1. Jesus is condemned to death: Pilate condemns Jesus to die on the cross.

  2. Jesus carries the cross: Jesus bears the cross on his shoulders.

  3. Jesus falls for the first time: Due to the weight of the cross and fatigue, Jesus falls.

  4. Jesus meets his mother: Mary, Jesus's mother, encounters her son on the way.

  5. Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus: Simon helps Jesus carry the cross.

  6. Veronica wipes Jesus's face: Veronica approaches Jesus and wipes his face.

  7. Jesus falls for the second time: Jesus stumbles and falls again.

  8. Jesus comforts the women of Jerusalem: Jesus stops to comfort the women who are crying for him.

  9. Jesus falls for the third time: Jesus falls for the last time before reaching Calvary.

  10. Jesus is stripped of his garments: The Roman soldiers strip Jesus of his clothes.

  11. Jesus is nailed to the cross: Jesus is nailed to the cross alongside two thieves.

  12. Jesus dies on the cross: Jesus gives up his spirit and dies on the cross.




The Castro de Santa Trega and the 12 stages of the Crucifixion constitute a unique tourist and religious destination in the northwest of Spain. Here, it is possible to learn about the historical and cultural roots of the region while reflecting on a fundamental event in the history of Christianity.

Like 1


Leave a comment

You don't have to be registered to leave a comment but it's quicker and easier if you are (and you also can get notified by email when others comment on the post). Please Sign In or Register now.

Name *
Spam protection: 
Your comment * (HTML not allowed)
(Items marked * are required)


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse you are agreeing to our use of cookies. More information here. x