Router problem

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
02 May 2011 12:00 AM by amatista Star rating. 440 posts Send private message

Hi, I have an ADSL and telephone line with Movistar/Telefonica.

12 months ago, my movistar router broke, so I bought a better Linksys model from shop in Fuengirola. They configured router and it has worked fine ever since. Saturday night internet went off, along with light on router.

I called Telefonica who told me their records showed i had a movistar router. I asked them what difference it made, and they said I had to reconfigure router. If this is the case, how come it has worked for 12 months? Will the guy who sold me the router be able to sort this out, or does anyone have the correct configurations for movistar routers, as man on phone told me this was open information??

As I am not technically minded, what do I have to do?

Confused.com

Like 0      
02 May 2011 10:11 PM by lobin Star rating. 256 posts Send private message

I have a movistar router and when it started acting funny two weeks ago, I called Telefonica technical assistance department.  They told me to reset the router by introducing an open paper clip in a very small hole on the back of the router and holding it there to a count of 20 seconds. After that I was told to turn the router off and turn it back on and then activate the wireless signal by reintroducing the clip in the same tiny hole for a count of 3 seconds.  It has worked fine since then.

I suggest you call the shop where you bought your router and find out how to reset it to its original configuration or visit the manufacturers website for instructions.

Like 0      
02 May 2011 10:56 PM by foxbat Star rating in Granada. 1112 posts Send private message

foxbat´s avatar

Amatista...

Firstly, Movistar would have replaced your router free of charge had you asked them to.