Driving to Spain from UK.

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
25 Mar 2013 3:01 PM by Delbhoy Star rating. 3 posts Send private message

Hi guys, was wondering if any one has driven from the UK to Alicante/Murcia region, and if so is there any advice, tips etc we could use, looking to head over end of June for a month and wife doesnt want to leave the dog for so long a time, so driving over with the dog seems the best/only option, Im the only driver so would be looking to stop over somewhere in France (probably) but would need to be somewhere that takes dogs, looking for the quickest route, thanks in advance.

Del

Like 0      
25 Mar 2013 5:47 PM by KJL Star rating. 56 posts Send private message

I have been driving down for the last 5 years and did it 3 times last year as I was bringing goods to furnish a flat I bought. Like you I am the only driver.

I don't like paying toll charges so my advice relates to non toll routes.

The least driving route is getting a Britany Ferry from Portsmouth/Plymouth to Santander/Bilbao and you can drive down from there to Alicante in a day easily. The only downside is that the ferry is quite expensive unless you manage to find a special offer. I have done this route a couple of times.