Solar and air source heat pumps/and insulation/

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
23 Feb 2020 1:26 PM by popag Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

I am considering buying a half built house in spain The basic structure is up . ie concrete frame, walls and the roof is on. It is about 8 years  old and not well insulated no windows or door no internal partions and floors are not screeded. Its a large property approx size 170m basement aprox 2.5 m deep into ground. 170m x 2.6m high ground floor and 130m  x 2.6m high 1st floor. It is not yet renderd inside or out. I am at a very early stage working out costs ect. I have some experience extending property and  putting in pool in spain on my existing holiday property. ( this will be a live in property)

The rooms are very large and I would not miss say 100mm of space from the inside of the external walls I would like to install underfloor heating and cooling all run off an air source heat pump whitch in turn would be run off solar pannels. with mains back up.

I have been looking at air sorce heat pumps in the uk and they seem to be comming down in price quite rapidly and increasing in efficeny. I would of thought they were the ideal option for spain with the hot weather in summer to drive the solar and cooling of heat pump and not extreamly cold in winter for the heating. 

Is there anyone out the with recent experience of heat pumps installed in spain any Knowledge would be welcome as I would want the heat pump in reverse to cool in summer and then heat in winter I presume I would need seperate solar hot water for summer?

I am thinking should i insulate the house with metal stud and insurlation board and dry line from the inside or insurlated render from the outside  any comments welcome.