Buying a car in spain

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
20 Feb 2018 10:11 PM by mcfc123 Star rating in Bury/camposol. 35 posts Send private message

Hi,wandering if anyone can help.

I am buying a car in spain,I am a non resident as I have a holiday home on camposol,mazarron.

I have been told by the seller I need a padron,as a non resident I did not think I needed tbis,

Can anyone help me.on this matter.

Thanks

body p

Like 0      
21 Feb 2018 8:23 AM by windtalker Star rating. 1935 posts Send private message

21 Feb 2018 10:30 AM by juansheetisplenty Star rating in Cartagena. 283 posts Send private message

juansheetisplenty´s avatar

Sorry to disagree but I have bought two cars here as non-resident and I am not on Padron. A copy of Escritura and NIE is sufficient to obtain registration,

Saludos

Like 0      
21 Feb 2018 10:40 AM by baz1946 Star rating. 2327 posts Send private message

I thought only full time residents in Spain had to sign on the Padron, isn't it illegal to sign on otherwise, because the local council get extra money from the government the more that sign on.

Like 0      
21 Feb 2018 11:04 AM by mariedav Star rating in Ciudad Quesada. 1221 posts Send private message

Someone is a bit out of date. You needed a padron years ago when residents and non-residents could sign on. The government clamped down and now only those whose main home is in Spain can sign on the padron. All you need now is proof of your address but not a padron.

Some dealers are still living in the past and insisting on one but it is not needed and hasn't been for some years.

Like 0      
21 Feb 2018 2:06 PM by windtalker Star rating. 1935 posts Send private message

I just Googled it and you no longer require  the padron ...so you are right...you will need a NIE and proof of your address in Spain.

Like 0