Here today gone tomorrow!

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
24 Feb 2011 12:00 AM by Dunga Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

Even though this is my first time of writing on eyeonspain I have been on reading things in the past.

I have lived in Spain for five years surviving on various jobs but now I just can not find any work. Because of this I am thinking of returning to the U.K. I do own my house here and intend on selling it. If I do, how will this affect me on my return? Will I not be entitled to any kind of benefits if I can not find a job? If I do not sell will they be able to trace back that I still own a property? Any help would be most appreciated.

Dunga

Like 0      
25 Feb 2011 9:19 AM by EOS Team Star rating in In Spain of course!. 4015 posts Send private message

EOS Team´s avatar

Sorry to hear about your problems here.  It is very tough here work wise at the moment and so many are now heading home.

Selling your property will be an issue anyway, as I'm sure you're aware.  You will have to sell lower than may be ideal.

If you did manage to sell the property, my understanding is that in the UK you don't get benefits if you have over a certain amount in savings.  I think its 6,000 pounds but I'm not totally sure about that.

If you still have your property in Spain and return to the UK, I don't think that is classed as "savings" so I wouldn't have thought they would take that into account.  If anything the property in Spain would be more of a liability!

That's about as much as I think I know!

Justin

Schools in Spain Guide | The Expat Files | Learn Spanish | Earn a living in Spain

Like 0      
25 Feb 2011 9:42 AM by claire T Star rating in Torremendo, Orihuela. 688 posts Send private message

EOS Supporter