Spanish bull fighting

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
23 Nov 2009 12:00 AM by bankedup Star rating in Chicago, IL. 4 posts Send private message

Hi, I'm a Spanish student in Chicago.

For a project, I was wondering what people's views were on Spanish bull fighting.

Any information on whether you agree/disagree would be good. 

Thanks!

Like 0      
23 Nov 2009 9:04 AM by roddy1 Star rating in Leeds/ Balsicas. 250 posts Send private message

roddy1´s avatar

Hi Bankedup

I feel that how can we criticise the Spanish culture, when in the UK we have foxhunting & dogfighting etc. Before we can criticise we should put our own house in order. I suppose after a bull as be killed it get's eaten , where as foxes and dogs are just left to rot! 

Like 0      
23 Nov 2009 11:08 AM by goodstich44 Star rating in northampton. 1648 posts Send private message

Hi Bankedup

I think that bull fighting is at last being recognised as what it is, hideous cruelty and torment against a confused animal for human enjoyment, in the name of tradition. I feel everyone has the right to criticise it.  It saddens me that anyone could get pleasure from watching any creature going through that terrible suffering. Of course some will deny that the creature suffers, or that it's suffering is a noble act etc. I think that sort of denial speaks for itself!!

In the UK, we have come to a similar conclusion about fox hunting thankfully. I think if it hadn't been a past time of mainly the wealthy and right wing, then it to would have been banned long ago.  Other cruel past times like dog fighting, cock fighting etc, (working class) were banned long ago, but still go on behind closed doors, but at least they are now seen by most decent people, like fox hunting, as cruel and cowardice acts by those who have no real feeling for animal suffering