air conditioning

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
25 Jan 2007 12:00 AM by bigalf Star rating in salisbury. 4 posts Send private message

Hello everybody,

I'm new to this site,and looking for advice.

I'm an air conditioning/refrigeration engineer and am looking to starting a business in Spain,dealing with domestic,industrial and commercial air conditioning and refrigeration.I will also be offering a mobile vehicle air con service.

What I would like to know is,where do I start?

Can anybody advise me as to the best areas,where this kind of business would take off.

Also,can anybody tell me about the likely pitfalls I'm possibly going to come across.

Any info or advice would be gladly appreciated.Thanks for your help

Like 0      
25 Jan 2007 10:54 AM by redman Star rating. 235 posts Send private message

Hi Bigalf,

I would guess that Airconditioning engineers are in demand, especially in the developing areas such as Murcia where many major new developments are taking place.  But it's the type of skill that is in demand all over Spain, especially if you have industrial A/C experience.

The thing in your favour is that many people buying off-plan, don't always want to go to the major suppliers or the developers for their air-conditioning due to the extra cost, but often don't have a choice as they don't know anyone, so it's often a case of getting yourself known and getting a good reputation, which takes time, but probably worth it in the end.

I have a friend in Malaga who runs his own A/C company.  He's only been there for a couple of years and he said it started slowly but now he's struggling to keep up with the demand.  The thing is, you'll get asked about other things to such as pool pumps when they fail, because people see you with your electrical gear and say things like 'hey! do you know anything about...', know what I mean?