FIRST TIME BUYERS IN SPAIN

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
28 Oct 2007 12:00 AM by tpau Star rating in Leicestershire. 21 posts Send private message

Hiya all, we are just purchasing our first property in spain, we are buying through homeespana and are using a solicitor they recommended, i am starting to feel a bit jittery about this and really hope we have done the right thing, so any words of comfort or advice would be appreciated.

Like 0      
28 Oct 2007 7:03 PM by Candyfloss Star rating in Cardiff / Mar Menor. 1605 posts Send private message

Candyfloss´s avatar

Hi Tpau

There will probably be a lot of yays and nays here. A lot of people believe that you should always use an independent solicitor than the one the agent recommends. I did use a solicitor that I was introduced to by our agent, all be it a samll independent agent and i am an agent myself so was comfortable to use him. I couln't fault him at all and he did a marvellous job for us throughout a very stressful purchase. Maybe it was because it was a small independent, rather than a large company agent and I had done a lot of research beforehand I can't say but as I said I was happy but I know there are a lot who haven't been as lucky. As long as there is no conflict of interest and the solicitor is acting in your best interest which is what he/she is supposed to do then everything should be ok. Sorry to be so vague as I understand you are jittery especially as there are a lot of tales of woe but try and ask as many questions as you possibly can and hopefully all will go well. I'm sure there are members here that may have dealt with the company you mention and will be able to answer you. Good luck with your purchase, where are you buying?

Like 0      
28 Oct 2007 8:46 PM by nfm2862 Star rating in Welling, Kent & Al A.... 1460 posts Send private message

nfm2862´s avatar

Hi Tpau