Spanish Citizenship Application Question

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
12 Jan 2013 10:46 PM by colonialboy Star rating. 10 posts Send private message

Hi All,

Just a quick question? I am an Australian citizen, and I am married to a Spanish citizen and my Spanish citizenship application is underway. I have already been for my interview and submitted a few documents.

At the time of the interview, I was a student and the person conducting the interview said that I need to bring in some proof of this. Now, I have since graduated and I am working as a freelancer and mostly earning money without contracts.

I would like to know what I could submit to explain my status. I have submitted certification that my parent's are able to support me financially, but I don't have anything clear.

Thanks for your help.

Like 0      
13 Jan 2013 8:00 AM by johnzx Star rating in Spain. 5242 posts Send private message

Do you mean you have applied for Spanish nationality  or for residenica ?

I realise that this may seem a strange question, but normally a person needs to be resident in Spain for 10 year in order to apply.

2) Citizenship by virtue of residence:

This way of acquisition of citizenship requires the individual to be legally resident in Spain for a continuous period of ten years immediately prior to the application. There are cases in which the required period of residence is reduced, to wit:

• Five years: to grant Spanish citizenship to individuals who have obtained refugee status;
• Two years: for nationals of Ibero-American countries, Andorra, the Philippines, Equatorial Guinea or Portugal, or individuals of Sephardic origin;
• One year for:
o Those born within the Kingdom of Spain;
o Those who have not duly exercised their right to acquire Spanish citizenship by option;