official shop holidays

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
06 Jul 2007 12:00 AM by mervy Star rating in oriheula. 138 posts Send private message

We have recently bought a shop and wondered if anyone could enlighten us as to what holidays the law require us to close.

Like 0      
06 Jul 2007 10:32 AM by Gillespie Star rating in Costa Calida Area. 608 posts Send private message

Gillespie´s avatar
Hi Mervy, This has got a little murky over the last few years since El Corte Ingles and Erosky have adopted a virtual 365 day opening policy. I open for all national and local holidays/fiestas except for a long Xmas close do to the patern of buyers (i am an estate agent). However even the smaller Spanish shops, especially clothing and shoe shops, seem to ingore the old standard holidays. If you have staff on contract they will have their standard holidays in the main, unless they agree to pay in lieu. Other than that the best advice is suck-it and see. Check who opens in your town during holidays, you may have a draconian town hall so better to be safe than pay a large fine!

Business advice and consultancy - Visit www.calidain2business.com

Calida in2 Business - Spanish Property Clearance.

www.spanishpropertyclearance.com

Like 0      
06 Jul 2007 11:17 AM by georgia Star rating in Algorfa (As seen on .... 1835 posts Send private message

Vip Supporter

georgia´s avatar

Hi Mervy,

We are based in a predominantly Spanish town with residential neighbours so we tend to close on red days regardless of who else is open.

This is purely out of respect for the community as most holidays are set around religous festivals and it only seems fair to respect the beleifs of the majority.

I do know someone who was closed down by the local police for opening on a red day and has had trouble from then on,like i say it is purely out of respect.