Baltic States: Flights

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
09 Mar 2011 12:00 AM by mike_walsh Star rating in Torrevieja. 594 posts Send private message

mike_walsh´s avatar

I am sure it is easier, and cheaper, to fly to the Americas from Spain than it is to EU member states; Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. A total population of nearly 7 million yet they are Spain isolated. I am no expert in air travel analysis but as far as I can see there is only Madrid serving that region. Madrid airport is best avoided. The cheapest direct flight Baltic Air (sharp intake of breath) €1,000 return.

The budget airlines connect with about eight British and mainland European airports but the shortest stop over I could find was 6.5 hours; I think all were overnight gaps and so badly synchronised that a night hotel wasn't practical. I am far too wise to sleep on airport floors.

I am sure this is an own goal by the airlines and Baltic tourist authorities. Besides, these three Baltic states are doorways for tens of millions of prosperous Russian nationals. When will the penny drop?

Russian - English Translations, Copywriting and Ghostwiting. Check my Website or email keyboardcosmetics@gmail.com for details

www.keyboardcosmetics.com

Like 0      
09 Mar 2011 5:35 PM by Roberto Star rating in Torremolinos. 4551 posts Send private message

Roberto´s avatar

If O'Sleazy hasn't jumped at the opportunity, it probably doesn't exist. But I'm intrigued now, so I'll waste some time trying to find a cheap and covenient route - not that I doubt you, Mike, but I like a challenge! In the meantime, here's some light entertainment:

"Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please"

Mark Twain

Like 0      
09 Mar 2011 5:50 PM by GuyT Star rating. 511 posts Send private message