Best bank for expats

Post reply   Start new thread
:: New - Old :: Old - New

Pages: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | Next |

Forum home :: Latest threads :: Search forums
The Comments
17 Nov 2006 12:00 AM by barbarah Star rating in Surrey and Alicante. 15 posts Send private message

barbarah´s avatar
We need to open an account in Spain shortly.  I'm wondering which bank is best to use as our Spanish is rather limited?  We would ideally like to have online banking in English.  Is there a bank that really caters for expats?  Thanks.

Like 0      
17 Nov 2006 11:25 AM by jfj Star rating in Vera, Almería. 142 posts Send private message

jfj´s avatar
Caja Granada apparently offer online banking in English. I have no personal experience with this bank, so I can't give any recommendations.

jfj

Like 0      
17 Nov 2006 12:12 PM by judithnicklin Star rating. 1 posts Send private message

we have had accounts with two banks in Spain both of which offer on-line banking in English - Banca March and Unicaja.  Banca March also have a London branch and you can transfer funds between the two - England and Spain - free of charge.

Like 0      
17 Nov 2006 12:14 PM by sping Star rating in Stockport & Playa Go.... 148 posts Send private message

sping´s avatar

If this helps you!

We went into our local branch of The Halifax and opened two accounts, one in the UK and the other in Spain. We can do all our banking over the phone or internet and transfer money with no charge. (Please note that for large amounts you will always be better off using a big currency firm like Travelex or similar as the rates are more in line with the business rate). We got a cheque book and a bank card so that we can pay with either and use the cash machines. It is also helpful to be able to speak to someone in English as my Spanish is still only holiday Spanish.

Hope this helps, Sping…

Like 0      
17 Nov 2006 1:34 PM by Smiley Star rating in San Pedro de Alcanta.... 2502 posts Send private message

Smiley´s avatar